Friday, January 4, 2013

Pretending to Be a Grown Up

Today I had an interview and i think it went really well. I woke up this morning feeling weirdly nauseated and couldn't finish my breakfast. Mid-way through my usual morning lecture from my mother, I had to run to the bathroom to get sick. Feeling like it would be irresponsible to cancel, I went to the city anyway. The interview lasted two hours. The first hour was with a woman I had talked to on the phone before - she was extremely easy to talk to, quick to laugh, etc. I always feel a false sense of security with those kinds of people and generally tend to overshare. Branching off from talking about my being an English major, she asked me what book I was currently reading. I started blushing and told her, "I don't want to tell you." I couldnt think of the book I had just finished, The Hours,a very deep, depressing meditation on the lives of women and the effects of the repressing society of their times . Instead, I told her "Good in Bed," with the disclaimer that I had just gotten it from a friend. Another slip up was when she asked me if I would consider myself an introvert or an extrovert. For a sales position, extrovert is key. But I cannot lie and said "introvert." Lastly, when the second interviewer was wrapping it up, he was leaving and tried to make small talk saying, "Got any fun plans this weekend?" At this point I had a piercing headache (perhaps due to my earlier mystery sickness) and looked at him blankly as I wracked my brain... Did I have plans...? Nah. "Um, not really.." "Fun stuff!" "Not really." "Okay." I rock at interviews ayyyyyyy

Thursday, January 3, 2013

January 25th

How was I to know That milk and honey flow Just a couple states below

Tuesday, December 25, 2012

Some Hemingway advice

Try to learn to breathe deeply, really to taste food when you eat, and when you sleep, really to sleep. Try as much as possible to be wholly alive with all your might, and when you laugh, laugh like hell. And when you get angry, get good and angry. Try to be alive. You will be dead soon enough. -E.H.

Thursday, May 5, 2011

I Am A Slacker

Have you ever pulled an all-nighter intending to study but end up not studying at all not one little bit? I have.

Tuesday, December 21, 2010

HO HO HO!!!

MERRY CHRISTMAS! Since finals have ended, my body and mind have gone into a vegetative state. I dressed at noon to go work out, however it is going on four now, and I have yet to leave the house. I just made a pot of coffee in the hopes that the energy it gives me will give me a little push out the door. This week I have spread myself thinner over the world of online entertainment. I just activated a new facebook that I can spam and play games on. I also created a youtube account and have been adding my favorite funny vids onto playlists so I can always have them at my disposal and never lose them! I really wish I was in Tahoe now so I could go skiing for the first time in four years. Although it has been awhile, I have no concerns about my skills. I've always been weirdly proud of my skiing because it is something I can only improve on once a year but I've still managed to become above average so check me outtt lalala. Congrats Coco on the new post and Marie on the new blog!

Friday, November 12, 2010

Runaway

Of course, crazy is not the official definition of my mental problem, but I don’t think a social disorder fits it, either, because that makes me sound like I’m a serial killer or something. I’ve never hurt another human being, or, at least, not physically. I’ve broken a few hearts in my time, but we’ve all done that, so I’m nothing special in that regard. I’m a boring heartbreaker, too. I never dated or married more than one woman at a time. I didn’t break hearts into pieces overnight. I broke them slowly and carefully. And I didn’t set any land-speed records running out the door. Piece by piece, I disappeared. I’ve been disappearing ever since.

Sherman Alexie,“What You Pawn I Will Redeem”

Thursday, September 23, 2010

So, so, so

JUNIOR YEAR: so far, so good. Comparing my month back at school to my last semester, I would say I have fully emerged from the dreary haze that I used to be stuck in. My team has been totally re-vamped: shedded away a class of mostly seniors and added MANY more freshman, all super talented with great arms and fast little youthful and spritely bodies! Their energy is overpowering sometimes and they may not respect the older girls as much as I think they should, but their effort is really contagious and I enjoy training with people who are talented and push me to perform at my best. Practice has been SO SO difficult - most days I feel close to drowning - but I've been leaving the pool with a good and tired body, a healthy kind of tired, and a good mental state. Not down on life. :)

Team is good, roommate is good, boy is good.. Things could be a lot a lot worse. Look at your life the way you want to see it.